Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gorakhpur University

Affiliated Colleges
One of the oldest universities in the state of Uttar Pradesh, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gorakhpur University is resident-cum-affiliating in nature. It is situated amidst salubrious surroundings of Gorakhpur district of the state. The University was initiated by Late Pt. S.N.M. Tripathi but was put into construction only in 1956 through act passed by the U.P. Legislature. The University is aimed at imparting quality higher education through distinguished faculties and affiliating colleges at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. It houses 123 colleges, located across five districts of Gorakhpur division.
Educational Streams
The University follows a comprehensive academic curriculum, offered through various degree and diploma programmes in a wide range of educational streams at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels. The courses are offered through six different faculties, namely, Faculty of Arts, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Commerce, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Law, and Faculty of Agriculture. Spread over five districts of Gorakhpur, the University conducts the courses through 123 affiliated colleges.
Spreading over vast luxuriant land, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gorakhpur University has state-of-the-art facilities and provides education-friendly ambience to the students. The University has been equipped with fully furnished hostels (separate for boys and girls), medical centers, library, computer center, and sports amenities. The hostels are outfitted with all requisite amenities, providing the feel of a home away from home. In addition, the affiliating colleges of the university arte also equipped with decent infrastructural and academic facilities. National Accreditation and Assessment Council has awarded a “B++” certificate to the University for its outstanding academic and infrastructural facilities.
Deen Dayal Upadhyay University was established under an act passed by the UP Legislature and started functioning since September 1, 1957. At the time of its inception, the University offered only Arts, Commerce, Law and Education faculty but in 1958, Faculty of Science was introduced. Since then, the voyage of imparting quality education has continued through the addition of courses and colleges.

  • Faculty of Arts
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Commerce
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Agriculture 

Contact address:
Civil Lines
Gorakhpur - 273 009
Phone: +91-551-2201577, 2340363
Fax: +91-551-2330767, 2340363