Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University

Affiliated Colleges
Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University was established with the aim of conducting higher knowledge in a wide array of faculties to aspiring students from all over India. Situated in one of the busiest metropolitan cities of the state of Uttar Pradesh, Kanpur, CSMJ University was started in the year 1966. The University is committed to the big responsible task of providing qualitative education. Recognized by University Grants Commission (UGC), it conducts a wide spectrum of undergraduate and post-graduate programmes in all disciplines of Art, Science, Commerce, Law, Engineering and Medicine through its 170 affiliated colleges spread over 15 districts of Uttar Pradesh.
Educational Streams
The programmes offered by Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University range from traditional programmes to professional and technical courses. These programmes are conducted at undergraduate, post-graduate and research levels in distinct streams of Art, Science, Commerce, Law, Engineering and Medicine, offered at 170 affiliated colleges and institutions. The residential wing of the campus consists of faculties of Life Sciences, Business Management, Education and English. By extending its educational services, the University also facilitates a computer centre, a department of Adult and Continuing Education, Communication and a College Development Council. As one of the fast emerging educational hubs of skilled and trained manpower, it caters to the needs of technical courses by starting an Institute of Engineering and Technology in the campus, imparting courses in branches of engineering, namely, Chemical, Computer Science and Information, and Mechanical Engineering.
Surrounded by 264 acres of beautiful and eco-friendly atmosphere, the University is dotted with state-of-the-art infrastructure. In order to provide the best services to the students, CSJMU is outfitted with all latest facilities within the premises. It has well-equipped lecture halls, technical laboratories, resourceful central library, hygienic cafeteria, well furnished hostels, spacious and well maintained guest house, multipurpose hall, etc. It boasts of inviting ambience for academicians to stimulate the students to work towards achieving their goals through informative curriculum design, advanced new courses and innovative teaching methodology. It also provides accommodation for resource persons, experts, academicians, counselors of other universities of the country. Besides, it offers ideal value-based extra-curricular activities which aim at accomplishing the all-round development of the students.
To lesser the burden of Agra University and fulfill the need of the establishing another university in Kanpur, the industrial capital of Uttar Pradesh which is commonly known as the Manchester of Northern India, the idea of formation of the University in Kanpur was initiated by Radha Krishnen Commission in 1949. Finally, in the year 1966, Kanpur University, otherwise known as Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University was established by an act of UP State Legislature.

  • Deen Dayal Shodh Sansthan
  • Department of Adult & Continuing education & Extension
  • Department of Education
  • Department of English
  • Department of Fine Arts and Painting
  • Department of Library & Information Science
  • Department of Master of Social Work (MSW)
  • Department of Music
  • Department of Physical Education
  • Institute of Bioscience & Biotechnology
  • Institute of Business Management
  • Institute of Journalism & Mass Communication
  • Institute of Life Sciences
  • Institute of Pharmacy
  • University Institute of Engineering & Technology
  • University Institute of Para Medical Science

Contact address:
Kanpur - 208 024
Phone: +91-512-2572553